Thursday, May 17, 2012

If you liked... [Road Trip Edition]

Do you know that feeling you have after finishing a book that immediately belongs on your favourites shelf? You feel so content and at the same time just want more. I'm always looking for books that are...more. In this case books that have road trips as one of their major elements.

Last year I fell in love with AMY & ROGER'S EPIC DETOUR, Morgan Matson's YA debut. And from then on the word road trip was inseparanly linked with my desire to pick up a new YA contemporary romance. Here are two books that you could also enjoy if you liked Amy & Roger.

Amy & Roger's Epic Detour


“Roger, he has a chain saw," I hissed. "I am not going to die in Kentucky!” 


“Hey," he said smiling at me pulling off his sunglasses. "Did you get me something good?"
"I think so," I said trying to ignore how hard my heart was beating. Then before I could think about it or analyze or consider what I was doing I leaned over and kissed him.” 


“It was like there was an elephant in the room. An elephant that expected us to have sex.” 


Saving June by Hannah Harrington


“I don't know what I need, or even what I want, from her or from anybody. There's no way to tell her the truth, because the truth is that my heart is broken, and I don't think there's any chance of it being sewn back together. This is permanent. It can't be fixed.”  


“These songs tell me I'm not alone. If you look at it that way, can see you through anything.”  


“So what if he's hot, sometimes. Like every time I look at him. Besides, annoying he may be, but he's had his shining White Knight Moment, what with the whole saving-me-and-my-best-friend-from-a-brawl-and-probable-jail-time thing. Even if I'm no damsel in distress and he's miles away from Prince Charming, such displays of gallantry, combined with his not-bad-okay-actually-pretty-good looks, make my strange lusty feelings completely justified. Practically obligatory, even.” 

In Honor by Jessi Kirby


I opened one eye and turned my head just in time to see Rusty standing behind the driver's door, pulling his jeans down. "What are you doing?" I sat up and looked around, like I shouldn't be seeing him or like someone else might see me see him and know how instantly hot it made my cheeks. Rusty didn't answer. He was bent over, trying to get his foot out of one of his pant legs.
"What are you doing? You are drunk. Gimme the keys."
He finally got the one foot out, then stood on it and pulled his jeans off the other leg. Then he bunched them up and threw them in the backseat, sat down behind the wheel so hard I bounced, and looked at me like I was the ridiculous one. "I'm not drunk. It's hotter than shit, we got a ways to go, and I'm sweatin' balls."


"He'd bring me to this bench, where we could see their headstones, and tell me that looking up at the stars was a way to look right back into the past - back to when our mom tucked us in each night and our dad chased away bad dreams and we all ate biscuits and gravy for breakfast every Sunday.
He'd say it was true because by the time the light from those stars twinkled all the way down to us, it was years and years old. He figured that when we sat side by side watching the night sky stretch endless and sparkling above us, our parents were there with us too, because it was the same light that had shone down on them their whole lives."


" "That is so dirty! You guys were just...dirty...dirty guys."
Rusty grins like I just gave him a compliment. "Not as dirty as Paula Peaches."
Shana walks up to the table before I can think of something clever to say back to him. "You two need another round?" She looks at me. "You doin' okay? Of course I'm okay. Excerpt I've been driving around in a dirty porn-star car. "

What they have in common:  beautiful covers, the main female protagonist having to deal with great loss, the road trip of course, a sweet romace, adventurous tour stops, ace music, memorable acquaintances, hot crushes, fun and all the other crazy things that only happen when you are on the road


More road trip books (that I haven't read yet)

Take Me There by Carolee Dean
Two-Way Street by Lauren Barnholdt
Thou Shalt Not Road Trip by Antony John
You Are Here by Jennifer E. Smith 
Kiss the Morning Star by Elissa Janine Hoole

Which road trip book should I read next? free polls 


  1. I am always looking for road trip book rec's, because, like you I loved Amy & Roger's Epic detour! Thanks so much for this post!!

  2. I actually have Amy and Roger's Epic Detour. I need to read it. Sounds like a good one for the summer, in the pool and whatnot. I think road trip novels can be pretty dang fun though, and I love any books that deals with music well.


  3. I love this post! I actually have a similar one scheduled for the week after next LOL Great minds think alike ;)
    Amy & Roger's and Saving June are just great and I'm looking for more road trips, too! You Are Here is a great one! I have a whole shelf on GoodReads^^ All travelling or road trip books^^

  4. I've heard fabulous things about Saving June and In Honor they're both on my wishlist!

  5. Thanks for the helpful list! I'll be checking these out for sure. :D

  6. Ahh I loved Saving June! I've had Amy & Roger for nearly a year now and I still haven't read it... I really must! I'll make it a summer read, along with In Honor, too :) Also, I love the sound of Thou Shalt Not Road Trip - it just sounds so fun!

  7. Can you believe I haven't read a single road trip story? That's completely ridiculous and something I really need to change! Amy and Roger's Epic Detour I've heard awesome things about, and judging by those quotes it's one I'm going to enjoy:)

  8. Wow, great list! I also love stories that are centered on travelings. They're great! That reminds me, a book I recently read, Sweet Evil, also had a road trip 0_0

    Anyways! I chose Kiss the Morning Star, I've read great things about that one :)